Posted by: jockgirl1965 | March 23, 2010

Peggy’s Cove at Dawn

This is one of my favorite rides. This ride is approximately 110km leaving from Dartmouth (MacDonald Bridge) at 3am on a Saturday or Sunday morning and you arrive at Peggy’s Cove as the sun is rising. You might think that’s totally crazy but here is why. Riding in the dark when no one else is on the road (except for a few trucks) is so much fun.

You arrive as the sun is rising and there is no one there. When was the last time you had Peggy’s Cove to yourself? It is so quiet, just the sound of the waves and the seabirds. During one of last years rides (I do it several times a season) I was met on the road by a family of dear. It was just as I was getting close to the Cove and I guess the quietness of my bike alowed me to get close to the dear without frightening them. While most of the dear headed for the bush one yearling paused about 25m away from me and just stared at me as I stopped to get my camera out.

This is why I do this ride. On the way back I counted 13 tour buses and it was only 8am. It was going to be just another busy day at Peggy’s Cove.

I think this is the only way to see Peggy’s Cove.


Responses

  1. This was amazing – loved reading about your cycling journey. I started my rides at the lake, only 1/2 hour a day but the weather has been extremely kind and I somhow can’t bring myself to skip a day. I look forward to my 1/2 hour of solitude daily by the lake.

    I loved reading about the walmart bike that started it all, very touching!

  2. So glad to hear your riding. It was key to my weight loss journey. Your help in buying the bike is what got me started. Who knows how things would be different if I hadn’t got it.
    You are officially the first person to submit a comment. Thank you so much. It’s great to know someone is reading it. I was so excited when I saw there was a comment.
    Bike Week Street Party is a bust today. It’s pouring rain. I just picked up a laminated poster for the event to promote the blog. Maybe I’ll attend some of the events during the week to help get the word out. Keep reading I’ll have many more interesting things to blog about.
    Love you Sis.


Leave a comment

Categories