Posted by: jockgirl1965 | May 27, 2010

Spring Into Cycling With Bike Week in HRM

The weather has been better this spring than most that I can remember. I have accumulated about 7ookm this spring and it would probably be more but I’ve been a bit busy. An average of 1000km a month would be a good cycling season for me. I think we had something like 21 days of rain in May last year. I am a fair weather rider unless I get caught in the rain. I find cycling in the rain a bit dangerous. My experience is that motorists don’t see you as well. I find it gets cold and I tend to tense up creating some extra muscle soreness at the end of the ride.

I am really sad to hear of the recent tragedies for cyclists. I don’t really think about the possibility of being hit when I’m riding although I do have close calls when cars turn left or right in front of me. For the most part people tend to go around me.

Bike week starts tomorrow and should be a lot of  fun. I’ll be at the Halifax Cycling Coalition Open Street Party on Sunday. I’ll be there with the HD Hero Helmet cam and handing out business cards with the blog address on it. I’ll also be at the MEC BIKEFEST the following  Sunday. I hope to attend a few other bike week events.

Safe riding to all.


Leave a comment

Categories