Posted by: jockgirl1965 | May 28, 2010

Fair Weather Rider No More!

Pleasant surprise to see this portion of the trail repaired. It was dangerous for walkers let alone challenging for cyclists.

Storm clouds in the distance were fast approaching.

Mother Nature was laughing at me yesterday. I had just finished posting about how I am a fair weather rider. Went for a ride in Eastern Passage along the Flyer Trail and the Salt Marsh Trail. The weather network said the wind speed was 20 but I soon found out the gusts were much more than that. In the past I would have turned around but I knew I would be somewhat sheltered from the wind once I got on the trails. When I got to the first bridge on the Salt Marsh Trail I could see storm clouds in the distance. I thought I would make it home before anything would happen. Within 10 minutes the cold driving rain was pounding on me in my shorts and Mother Nature topped it off with a shower of hail. Despite being cold and wet it was kind of fun. It reminded me of when I was a kid playing out in a rain storm. It was exciting and electric. I felt like I had ‘Braved the Storm’. It also reminds me of times when I was camping in  the interior of Algonquin park after canoeing and portaging all day just to set up camp in the pouring rain. At the time it sucked but when it was over I felt emotionally ‘strong’. Reflecting on this I thought ‘Wow, I did this’. It’s cool to think I didn’t quit or fall apart. After days of pouring rain and all your gear is wet and trying to fish in a downpour I did ask myself “What the Hell am I doing here?!” I find as I get older (just turned 45 2 days ago) I get very comfortable in my comfie and cozy life and that I really have to push myself out of my comfort zone. It in those moments of strength that I really feel alive.


Leave a comment

Categories