Posted by: jockgirl1965 | November 16, 2010

I’m Back…

It’s been quite a while since my last post. Here’s the story behind my forced sabbatical. Late in May I decided to do a trail ride with my hi-bred bike, the Flyer Trail in Eastern Passage. Soon after I started up Cow Bay Rd. I realized the gusting wind was very dangerous. I made the decision to continue thinking once I got on the trail I would be sheltered by the trees. I had a great uneventful ride. It wasn’t until I crossed Cow Bay Rd. along Caldwell Rd. that things got harry. There was road construction going on and the wind gust were even stronger. As I headed down this substantial hill I slowed down to 30km/hr (I usually reach 50km/hr). Not good enough a gust knocked me over. The bike and myself started sliding down the hill. If it had not been for the road workers quick response I may have sustain more serious injuries. They ran to me and stopped me from skidding down the road. I have to thank them for their response and offers to drive me to the hospital or home. Since I was less than a few kilometres from home and very stubborn (I insist ending any ride on my own steam) I declined their offers. It was a slow and dangerous crawl home in terrible pain. I’m glad I wear complete gear when I ride. My bike shorts were torn and I was covered with road rash. I slammed my head several times on the road. I had whiplash and a minor concussion. I had read indentation marks around my head where the helmet pressed against my forehead. A shoulder injury and the most troublesome injury was to my left thumb which I thought was broken. A quick trip to the ER showed no break. I did however tear the ligament which made it impossible to grasp and do fine motor skills. Riding was over for a while. Every time I tried to ride the pain was unbearable and I could use the thumb at all. This made riding difficult and grasping my water bottle that is in a left sided cage impossible. I soon realized my riding in one of the best summer we’ve had in a long time was over. After a few months the pain was minimal but the thumb still wouldn’t work. In my wisdom I decided to make up for the lost season by doing renovations to our newly purchased house. This include some serious dry walling and painting living room, dinning room, and all the halls. I stubbornly worked through the pain and got it done but then realized I had done more damage to the thumb. Some intensive physio therapy and I regained the use of the thumb. As a way of making up for the lost summer (my partner had a severe back injury and was laid up in bed for a good part of the season) we decided to finally make the leap after 5 years together and tied the knot and then went to Cuba for our honeymoon.  In the process of all of this I gained a whopping 18lbs. I have many excuses for this: My sister visiting from Ontario. We met for breakfast every morning at local restaurants. With Jenn in bed and my injuries we did a lot of  pizza and timbits. Every time I made mention of going for a ride or a run Jenn insisted on coming with me. Of course this made no sense except the jury is still out on who is more stubborn.  So I did not work out. I’m sure I left out more excuses. Well, the excuses are over and I am back on track. I have lost a total of  20lbs in 5 weeks and still riding in the cold and windy weather. I planned to continue as long as there is no snow. I’m running and spending a lot of time at the gym. I also have adjusted my diet to include only healthy choices and no cheating.

I am doing some video with the herocam of my rides and will post them soon. I will attempt to start posting information about all the trails will be in full swing for bike week next June. I welcome any comments or information that others might have information about the trails.


Leave a comment

Categories